Governor, Congressional Delegation, Speaker, Senate President, 117 State Committee Members Endorse Buckley for State Chair

CONCORD:  New Hampshire Democratic Party Vice Chair Ray Buckley today announced that he has received strong support in his bid for state party chair.

Gov. John Lynch, Congressman-elect Paul Hodes, Congresswoman-elect Carol Shea- Porter, Speaker Terie Norelli and Senate President Sylvia Larsen and four-term New Hampshire Democratic Party Chair Kathy Sullivan endorsed Buckley. Buckley's list of supporters also include all 14 Democratic State Senators, the officers of the NHDP, DNC members Anita Freedman and Gaetan DiGangi, six former Democratic State Chairs, former US Senator John Durkin, former congressmen Norm D?Amours and Dick Swett , nine Democratic County Chairs and the leadership of the NH Young Democrats.

Sullivan announced her retirement last Saturday to the membership of the NH Democratic State Committee. In less than a week Buckley has secured the public support of 117 of the 195 member state party committee.

"I am overwhelmed with the strong support I am receiving from the grassroots up. We have much to do over the next two years to prepare for November 2008 and beyond. I will expect a great deal from the party members, everyone will have a role in the team. I look forward to empowering our activists and supporting our elected officials," said Buckley.

Buckley, 47, of Manchester is the current first vice chair of the state party. He engineered the successful effort to regain the state senate majority this year and is a veteran campaign strategist. Buckley serves as Chair of the Eastern Region Caucus of the Democratic National Committee and sits on the DNC executive committee. The 28-year member of the state party committee is in his fifth term as the Chair of the Manchester City Democrats and served eight terms in the NH House of Representatives.

The filing period for NHDP Chair and all party officers opened on December 11 and ends Monday January 15. The party election will take place Saturday, March 24 at the Institute of Politics at St. Anselm College in Manchester.