Gov. Applauds House Education Committee Vote to Recommend Bill to Increase NH's Graduation Rate

From the Office of Governor John Lynch

CONCORD - Gov. John Lynch today applauded the House Education Committee for voting today to recommend legislation aimed at increasing New Hampshire's high school graduation rate. The legislation will now go to the full House for a vote.

"Last year, an estimated 2,300 New Hampshire students dropped out of high school. Without a high school diploma, those young people are not going to have the opportunities they deserve, and our state will not have the educated workforce it needs to thrive, "Gov. Lynch said. "This legislation sends our young people a clear message that we are not going to give up on them or let them give up on themselves.

"By raising the compulsory attendance age, we are setting a goal of ensuring a high school diploma for every student of our state - and setting a deadline to meet that goal," Gov. Lynch said. "I thank the House Education Committee for supporting this important legislation."

In addition, Gov. Lynch thanked House Education Committee Chair Steve L'Heureux, who is a sponsor of the bill, for his hard work and support of the legislation.

"Improving education is a bipartisan issue and must be a bipartisan effort. I'm thankful to all the legislators, Democrats and Republicans, who have joined in this effort to increase New Hampshire's graduation rate, "Gov. Lynch said.

The sponsors of the legislation are Sen. Dick Green, Sen. Iris Estabrook, Sen. John Gallus, Sen. Sylvia Larsen, Sen. Maggie Hassan, Sen. Bob Odell, Sen. Lou D'Allesandro, Sen. Andy Martel, Sen. Joe Foster, Sen. David Gottesman, and Representatives Ken Weyler, Rep. Jim Craig, Rep. Steve L'Heureux and Rep. Clare Synder.

As part of an overall statewide strategy to increase New Hampshire's high school graduation rate, Gov. Lynch, and a bipartisan coalition of legislators, proposed the legislation increasing New Hampshire's compulsory attendance age from 16 to 18.

The legislation, SB 268, would go into effect in the 2008-2009 school year.