Senator Hassan Announces Availability of State Funds for Mosquito Control Efforts to Combat EEE

For Immediate Release

Monday, July 24, 2006

Contact: Senator Maggie Hassan

Phone: 603 271-2118

Fax: 603 271-3027


CONCORD, NH – State Senator Maggie Hassan, D-District 23, today announced the availability of state funds for mosquito control efforts to combat Eastern Equine Encephalitis, commonly referred to as EEE. The legislature passed HB 1464 to provide reimbursement to cities and towns for some of their mosquito control efforts and to streamline the permitting process in the event a city or town decide to engage in larvicide or adulticide spraying.

Health and Human Services has now taken steps to trigger the provisions of the new law that will provide state funds to certain communities to combat EEE. Health and Human Services has the discretion to provide up to 25 percent of the cost of mosquito control efforts for towns that have a plan in place and where EEE has been detected or meets criteria of area where EEE most likely to be.

HB 1464 also established a task force that will begin meeting on July 27, 2006, and brings science experts, local officials, HHS, Fish and Game, veterinarians and legislators to the table to ensure that New Hampshire's EEE policy is as up to date as possible.

Hassan noted that recent discussions between the town of Stratham and the state's Fish and Game and Health and Human Services departments are continuing. The town of Stratham is particularly sensitive to the threat of EEE. One of the state’s EEE deaths last year involved a young woman who worked in the town.

“With the recent confirmed presence of EEE in nearby Danville, this area of the state needs to be as proactive as possible in preventing EEE,” stated Senator Hassan. Hassan also reiterated health officials' advice that the best way to prevent EEE is to wear protective clothing, use insect repellent containing DEET, and remove standing water where mosquitoes breed.

District 23 includes the towns of East Kingston, Exeter, Kensington, Kingston, Newfields, Newmarket, Newton, South Hampton, Seabrook and Stratham.