N.H. Audubon Seeks Nominations for Annual Awards

Nominations Sought for Annual Awards

Concord, N.H. -- New Hampshire Audubon Board of Trustees seeks nominations for the following awards to be presented at the Annual Meeting of the membership. Deadline for nominations is April 1, 2008.

The Tudor Richards Award is presented annually to the person who best exemplifies Tudor's love and knowledge of the outdoors and who has worked tirelessly and effectively on behalf of conservation in New Hampshire. Past recipients include Barry Wicklow (2007), Brad Wyman (2006), and Larry Sunderland (2005).

The Goodhue-Elkins Award is presented annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the study of New Hampshire birds. The award is named for Charles Goodhue, one of the state's great pioneer birders, and Kimball Elkins, the model of critical observation and insightful record-keeping. Past recipients include Sandy Turner of Lyman (2007), Ralph Andrews of Nashua (2006), and Dick Hughes of Exeter (2005).

Both awards are merit-based and affiliation with New Hampshire Audubon is not a requirement. Nomination forms are available from the N.H. Audubon website, www.nhaudubon.org/nha-annual-awards.htm or from Eric Masterson (224-9909, ext. 307), emasterson@nhaudubon.org. Be sure to include your mailing address.

About New Hampshire Audubon

New Hampshire Audubon is an independent statewide membership organization whose mission is to protect New Hampshire's natural environment for wildlife and for people. It operates five nature centers throughout the state that provide educational programs for children and adults. It is also involved in statewide conservation research and wildlife monitoring projects, protects thousands of acres of wildlife habitat, and advocates for sound public policy on environmental issues. For information on New Hampshire Audubon, including membership, volunteering, programs, and publications, call 603-224-9909, or visit www.nhaudubon.org .