Strafford County Democrats Elect New Executive Committee

 Dover – Strafford County Democrats elected Caitlin Daniuk of Rollinsford county chair today as they chose a new executive committee to serve for the next two years.

Daniuk, a former state representative from Hillsborough County long active in Democratic politics, is currently the public information administrator at the State House visitor’s center in Concord. She is a 2006 graduate of the University of New Hampshire.

Former county chair Carole Appel of Dover was re-elected vice-chair. Joan Ashwell of Durham, county chair for the past two years, will continue on the board as secretary, and Somersworth Democratic city committee chair Connie Margowsky was re-elected treasurer.

Five at-large members were also elected. Durham Democratic town chair Tim Ashwell, Dover Democratic city chair Bill McCann and state Rep. Mike Rollo of Rollinsford were re-elected. Two new at-large members were also elected: Dave Kuljo of Rochester and Gordon Simmons of Dover.

“Strafford County is the key to Democratic victories in New Hampshire,” Daniuk said, “Our new executive committee includes activists from across the county, and we look forward to working together this year to elect Democratic county officers, executive councilors and legislators as we re-elect Gov. John Lynch, Congresswoman Carol Shea-Porter and elect Gov. Jeanne Shaheen to the U.S. Senate while carrying the county and the state for Barack Obama.”

The Strafford County Democratic Committee is composed of all registered Democratic voters in the county and supports Democratic Party candidates and policies at the local, state and national levels. The executive committee organizes and oversees party activities around the county. All nine members of the county executive committee also serve as members of the New Hampshire Democratic State Committee.

Tim Ashwell
Chair, Durham N.H. Democratic Town Committee