Shea-Porter Announces Contiguous Disaster Designation for Carroll County

Washington, D.C. Congresswoman Carol Shea-Porter today announced that Carroll County, New Hampshire has been named a contiguous disaster county by the United States Department of Agriculture. This designation comes as a result of Oxford County, Maine being designated a primary natural disaster area from excessive rain, flooding, and a tornado that occurred on August 21, 2009.  Carroll County farm operators will now be eligible for emergency loan assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA) and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program. FSA will consider each application on its own merit by taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.