WH Media Affairs - The White House Announces Regional Finalists For The 2009-2010 Class of White House Fellows

WASHINGTON, DC The White House announced today that 108 outstanding men and women from across the country have been selected as Regional Finalists for the White House Fellows Program. Founded in 1964 by President Lyndon Johnson, the White House Fellows Program is the nation's most prestigious program for leadership and public service.


This year's Regional Finalists represent a broad cross-section of professions, including technology, education, health care, state government, engineering, business, consulting, law, the non-profit sector, and the military. A complete list of the Regional Finalists is included below.


During March and April 2009, Regional Finalists will participate in a rigorous interview process. Based on the results of these interviews, approximately thirty candidates will be named National Finalists. The President's Commission on White House Fellowships will interview the National Finalists in June 2009 and then recommend candidates to President Barack Obama for a one-year appointment as White House Fellows.


White House Fellows spend a year working as full-time, paid special assistants to senior White House Staff, Cabinet Secretaries and other top-ranking government officials. Fellows also participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors and trips to study U.S. policy in action both domestically and internationally.


Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement early in one's career, evidence of leadership potential, a proven commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the Federal government. Fellowships are awarded on a strictly non-partisan basis. The program has fostered a legacy of leadership, with nearly 600 alumni who are respected leaders. Alumni include former Secretary of State Colin Powell, CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Travelocity CEO Michelle Peluso, and Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert.



2009-2010 White House Fellows Regional Finalists:


Chisaraokwu N. Asomugha Hamden, CT

Laura M. Bacon Cambridge, MA

Andrew J. Baldwin Washington, DC

Komal Bazaz Smith Arlington, VA

Scott A. Berkowitz Columbia, MD

Trevor P. Blair San Diego, CA

Eric H. Blinderman New York, NY

Jeremy N. Block Durham, NC

Christina Boiler New York, NY

Jacquelyn R. Bonner Washington, DC

Sudip K. Bose Chicago, IL

Nicole E. Campbell Brooklyn, NY

Dimitri C. Cassimatis Landstuhl, Germany

Robert C. Castelli Southern Pines, NC

Sreekanth K. Chaguturu Boston, MA

Carolyn N. Choi Los Altos, CA

Aysha A. Chowdhry Chevy Chase, MD

Bowen Chung Santa Monica, CA

David W. Cooper Waldorf, MD

Chad A. Crank Little Rock, AR

Gery B. Cummings Manhattan, KS

Luqman K. Dad Buffalo, NY

Amar A. Desai Westlake Village, CA

Kyle W. Dietrich Southlake, TX

John E. Ethridge Alexandria, VA

Jose M. Fernandez San Francisco, CA

Jonathan J. Finer New Haven, CT

Theodore S. Fish Santa Fe, NM

Eric T. Fleckten Kirkville, NY

David C. Foley Clarksville, TN

Daniel P. Gallagher Havertown, PA

Rebekah E. Gee Philadelphia, PA

Elisha P. Gilliam Baltimore, MD

Victor J. Glover Ridgecrest, CA

Shawn-Pavan M. Golhar Santa Monica, CA

John T. Green San Diego, CA

Peter F. Halvorsen Norfolk, VA

Kenneth E. Harbaugh Hamden, CT

Sarah A. Harris Indianapolis, IN

Garry A. Harsanyi Princeton, NJ

Alexander J. Hartemink Durham, NC

Kellie M. Hawkins Los Angeles, CA

Michael J. Hillyard Jacksonville, FL

Zheng Y. Huang San Jose, CA

Ellen C. Hunter Atlanta, GA

Erica L. Jacquez Santos Lakewood, CA

Kellee T. James Chicago, IL

Sarah S. Johnson Cambridge, MA

Timothy Johnson Crofton, MD

Joanna T. Katzman Abuja, Nigeria

Moushumi M. Khan Ann Arbor, MI

Maureen E. Kinder Washington, DC

Michael E. Kopko Fort Lauderdale, FL

Robert E. Kopp Princeton, NJ

Benjamin L. Kornell Palo Alto, CA

Emma L. Kurnat-Thoma Bethesda, MD

H Clay Lyle Woodbridge, VA

Robert K. Lyman Niceville, FL

James H. Mackey Brussels, Belgium

Anish P. Mahajan Los Angeles, CA

Mehret Mandefro Philadelphia, PA

Brett H. Mandel Philadelphia, PA

Ann T. Maxwell Santa Barbara, CA

Loren Z. McArthur Lexington, MA

Matthew Meyer Brooklyn, NY

Emil G. Michael Miami Beach, FL

Suzanne M. Miller Washington, DC

Lisa K. Miller South Orange, NJ

Kristin E. Misner New York, NY

James H. Moran Washington, DC

Katherine Mossman Palmdale, CA

Ali Nouri Washington, DC

James E. O'Harrah Fernandina Beach, FL

Patrick H. O'Mahoney Corpus Christi, TX

Collin P. O'Mara Berkeley, CA

Abimbola T. Omoniyi New York, NY

Obinna A. Onyeagoro New York, NY

Brandon D. Parker Montgomery, AL

Allen J. Pepper Springfield, VA

Omar M. Rashid Richmond, VA

Kyle A. Rasmussen Mason, OH

Kristin A. Resnansky New York, NY

Kendric H. Robbins Iraq

Cindy L. Rodriguez Lutz, FL

Allison I. Rogers Providence, RI

Matthew A. Rojansky Washington, DC

Adam R. Rosenthal San Diego, CA

Mark A. Rothert Canton, IL

Anthony L. Russell Stafford, VA

Manish K. Sethi Brookline, MA

Minesh P. Shah Bronx, NY

Raj M. Shah Philadelphia, PA

Rachel G. Skerritt Roxbury, MA

Brooke K. Stearns Lawson Venice, CA

Marc S. Sternberg New York, NY

Maura C. Sullivan Palo Alto, CA

Scott A. Suozzi Washington, DC

Brian K. Surratt Seattle, WA

Natasha Tarpley Chicago, IL

Adam R. Taylor Washington, DC

Presiliano R. Torrez Albuquerque, NM

Christopher J. Voorhees Altadena, CA

Chris E. Wallace Irving, TX

Michael E. Webber Austin, TX

Laura I. Weinbaum Philadelphia, PA

Sonia A. Zeledon Washington, DC

Wei Lily Zhou Sparta, TN

David E. Zipper Brooklyn, NY