NEW HAMPSHIRE – Congresswoman Carol Shea-Porter has received the distinguished Shirley Chisholm Award from the New England Educational Opportunity Association (NEOA). The Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and active support for students served by TRIO Programs. The Federal TRIO Programs are educational opportunity outreach programs designed to motivate and support students from disadvantaged backgrounds.

“Congresswoman Chisholm said that service is the rent we pay for the privilege of living on this earth,” said Congresswoman Shea-Porter. “I am honored to receive this award and will keep fighting to ensure that students of all backgrounds can take part in the American Dream.”

As a Member of the Education and Labor Committee, Congresswoman Shea-Porter has a strong record of supporting education. Last year, the Congresswoman was honored by the University of New Hampshire for her support of Upward Bound, which is part of TRIO and is the Federal program that helps high school students succeed in higher education.

The Shirley Chisholm Award is named after former Congresswoman Chisholm, who was an advocate for TRIO programs during her tenure in the House of Representatives. This award recognizes the contributions and support of individuals outside the TRIO community.

Previous award recipients have included:

1983 Cong. Samuel Gejdenson
1984 Sen. Robert Stafford
1985 Sen. Claiborne Pell
1986 Cong. Silvo Conte
1987 Sen. Lowell Weicker
1988 Sen. George Mitchell
1989 Mr. Richard Gerue
1990 Cong. Louis Stokes
1991 Mr. Thomas Wolanin
1992 Mr. David Evans
1993 Cong. Jack Reed
1994 Mr. Edward Elmendorf
1995 Sen. James Jeffords
1996 Mr. Charles Bunting
1997 Sen. Edward Kennedy
1998 Sen. Christopher Dodd
1999 Sen. Susan Collins
2000 Thomas G. Mortenson
2001 Jane Oates
2002 Cong. Patrick Kennedy
2003 Cong. Bernie Sanders
2004 Cong. John Tierney
2005 Cong. Michael Michaud
2006 Sen. Lincoln D. Chafee
2007 Vermont Governor James H. Douglas