SBA - Luncheon to be held Honoring 2009 SBA Award Winners

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will honor their 2009 “Small Business Week” award winners at a luncheon to be held on June 3, 2009 at C.R. Sparks in Bedford. The luncheon will be hosted by the NH Small Business Development Center (NH SBDC). The winners are as follows:



NH Small Business Persons of the Year:

Dr. George Korn & Joyce Korn, Co-owners

Safeway Training and Transportation Services, Inc.

Newton Junction


NH Young Entrepreneur of the Year:

Melissa Page, Owner

Melissa Page Cosmetics, Manchester


NH Woman Business Owner of the Year:

Glenda Godshall, President

Nashua Nutrition, Nashua


NH Jeffrey H. Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year:

Debbie Frawley Drake, President

Lakes Region Linen, Laconia


Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year:

James E. Goss, Executive Director

NH Committee of Employer Support of the Guard & Reserve, Concord


NH Small Business Journalist of the Year:

Jeremiah Turner, Business Editor

Foster’s Daily Democrat & Sunday Citizen, Dover


NH Financial Services Champion of the Year:

John Martin, Vice President

Richard Holden, Vice President

Laconia Saving Bank, Laconia & Concord


Home Based Business Champion of the Year:

Mary Ann Kristiansen, Executive Director

Hannah Grimes Center, Keene


NH Women in Business Champion of the Year:

Leslie Sturgeon, President

Women Inspiring Women, Bristol


NH SBDC Service Excellence and Innovation Center of the Year:

Heidi Edwards Dunn, Program Coordinator

NH Small Business Development Center, Concord


NH SCORE Counselor of the Year:

Theodore Papoutsy, Rye


Special District Champion of the Year:

Karen Pollard, Economic Development Manager

City of Rochester


Prime Contractor of the Year Northeast Region

Ross Miller, President

Safety Net Solutions, Inc., Salem


NH Minority Small Business Person of the Year (2008)

David Perry, President

Port Electronics Corporation, Salem


For registration information please visit the NH SBDC website: or call (603) 227-0417.