NH DHHS - NH Senior Volunteers Honored at State House Ceremony

Concord, NH – At an afternoon ceremony at the State House, Governor John Lynch and Health and Human Services Commissioner (DHHS) Nicholas Toumpas joined with the State Committee on Aging (SCOA) to honor recipients of the 2009 Vaughan Awards. Each year the State and SCOA recognize a couple or individual from each county who are 60 or older and have demonstrated outstanding leadership and volunteer service on behalf of senior citizens across New Hampshire.


“Today we are celebrating the accomplishments of these individuals who have helped to make a difference in their communities,” said Governor John Lynch. “The efforts of these individuals makes a positive impact on the lives of so many New Hampshire citizens and helps to make our state a great place.”


Ten individuals were honored at the celebration. SCOA Chair Dr. Owen Houghton and DHHS’ Bureau of Elderly and Adult Services (BEAS) Administrator Kathleen Otte presented the winners with their awards. The awards were initiated in 1962 in memory of Joseph D. Vaughan. Vaughan, a New Hampshire legislator was an early advocate of the elderly and was instrumental in creating a State agency dedicated to the well being of senior citizens.


“Our senior volunteers play a vital role in our communities,” said DHHS Commissioner Nicholas Toumpas, “they bring a lifetime of experience to the organizations they volunteer for; volunteering in turn provides them with an opportunity to stay connected to the communities where they’ve lived and raised their families.”


This year’s Vaughan Award recipients are:


Belknap County – Charles Safford (deceased)

Carroll County – Barbara Hoyt

Cheshire County – Mary L. Johnson

Coos County – Susan Papstein

Grafton County – Bertha Farnham

Hillsborough County – Beverly Arel

Merrimack County – Ernest Noyes

Rockingham County – Norma St. Germain

Strafford County – Arlene Reynolds

Sullivan County – William “Bill” Hoyt