NH House Republicans Announce Committee Leadership Positions

The Speaker of the New Hampshire House, William O’Brien, today released the names of most of those who will fill leadership positions on the various standing committees. He also announced changes being made in the committee structure, which includes the elimination of the Local & Regulated Revenues committee, separating two committees into divisions, and creating two new committees to handle constitutional review and petitions for redress of grievances.

“Given the large volume of bills that are heard each session in Judiciary, as well as the committee on Commerce and Consumer Affairs, I felt it important that we create these divisions  in order to give proper and due diligence to the legislation being sent to those committees,” said the speaker.

Two divisions have been created in Commerce and Consumer Affairs: Insurance & Consumer Regulations, and Banking & Business Regulations.  Rep. John Hunt of Rindge will once again chair the Commerce and Consumer Affairs committee.  Rep. Jenn Coffey of Andover will serve as vice chairman.

The Judiciary committee, chaired by Rep. Robert Rowe of Amherst, will also have two divisions: Judicial Administration, also chaired by Rowe; and Judicial Policy, chaired by Rep. Gregory Sorg of Easton, who will also serve as the vice-chairman for the Judiciary committee.

Speaker O’Brien also announced the creation of two additional committees.   The Committee on Petitions for Redress of Grievances will be chaired by Paul Ingbretson of Pike.  The Committee on Constitutional Review and Statutory Recodification will be chaired by Daniel Itse of Fremont, with John Cebrowski of Bedford serving as the vice-chairman.

Other committee leadership appointments include:

Children and Family Law:         

      Chair—Edward Moran, Bedford

      Vice Chairman—Edith Hogan, Nashua

Criminal Justice and Public Safety         

      Chair—Elaine Swinford, Barnstead

      Vice Chairman —Larry Gagne, Manchester


      Chair—Michael Balboni, Nashua

      Vice Chairman —Ralph Boehm, Litchfield

Election Law:   

      Chair—David Bates, Windham

      Vice Chairman —Dino Scala, Wakefield

Environment & Agriculture:      

      Chair—Robert Haefner, Hudson

      Vice Chairman —Warren Groen, Rochester

Executive Departments and Administration:       

      Chair—Carol McGuire, Epsom

      Vice Chairman —Kenneth Hawkins, Bedford


      Chair—Kenneth Weyler, Kingston

      Vice Chairman —Lynne Ober, Hudson

   Finance, Division 1: Chair—William Belvin, Amherst

   Finance, Division 2: Chair—Will Smith, New Castle

   Finance, Division 3: Chair—Neal Kurk, Weare

Fish and Game and Marine Resources:              

      Chair—Gary Hopper, Weare

Health, Human Services & Elderly Affairs:        

      Chair—John Reagan, Deerfield

      Vice Chairman —Frank Kotowski, Hooksett

Labor, Industrial & Rehabilitative Services:        

      Chair—Gary Daniels, Milford

      Vice Chairman —William Infantine, Manchester

Legislative Administration:

      Chair—Paul Mirski, Enfield

Municipal & County Government

      Chair—Beverly Ferrante, Derry

      Vice Chairman —Franklin Sterling, Jaffrey

Public Works & Highways:       

      Chair—Gene Chandler, Bartlett

      Vice Chairman —Carl Seidel, Nashua

Resources, Recreation & Development: 

      Chair—Andrew Renzullo, Hudson

      Vice Chairman —L. Michael  Kappler, Raymond

Science, Technology & Energy: 

      Chair—James Garrity, Atkinson

      Vice Chairman —Frank Holden, Lyndeborough

State, Federal Relations & Veterans’ Affairs:    

      Chair—Alfred Baldasaro, Londonderry


      Chair—Sherman Packard, Londonderry

      Vice Chairman —John Hikel, Goffstown

Ways & Means:           

      Chair—Stephen Stepanek, Milford

      Vice Chairman —Norman Major, Plaistow

Additional appointments to committee leadership posts will be announced by the speaker later in the week and the full committee assignments are expected to be released by December 15.

“We made every attempt to put the most qualified people into these leadership positions, based on their expertise,” said Speaker O’Brien. “I am pleased with the mixture of both veteran lawmakers, including some former chairs and vice-chairs, and those who are relative newcomers to leadership,” he concluded.