NH DHHS - NH Seniors Recognized for Volunteer Service

Concord, NH – Health and Human Services Commissioner (DHHS) Nicholas Toumpas and Governor John Lynch joined with the State Committee on Aging (SCOA) and EngAGING NH to recognize this year’s recipients of the Vaughan Awards. The Joseph D. Vaughan Awards are presented annually to a couple or individual from each county who are 60 or older and have demonstrated outstanding leadership and volunteer service on behalf of senior citizens across New Hampshire.

"We have a strong spirit of volunteerism here in New Hampshire, and the people we honor with the Vaughan Awards symbolize that spirit, which is such an important part of New Hampshire's high quality of life," Gov. John Lynch said. "The efforts of these volunteers provide vital support, encouragement and friendship to our aging residents. I want to thank these volunteers for their efforts and for having a positive impact on the lives of so many New Hampshire citizens."

The Joseph D. Vaughan Award was initiated in 1962 to memorialize the Honorable Joseph D. Vaughan, a New Hampshire legislator. Vaughan was an early advocate for older residents of the state and was instrumental in creating a State agency dedicated to the well being of senior citizens.

“Our senior volunteers are treasured resources,” said DHHS Commissioner Nicholas Toumpas, “they bring a lifetime of experience to the organizations they serve. It’s important that we honor all that they do, because what they do makes a difference in the lives of so many others.”

This year’s Vaughan Award recipients are:

Belknap County – Russell Armstrong

Carroll County – Margaret Dutta

Cheshire County – Carroll Allen

Coos County – Margaret McClellan

Grafton County – Edwin “Chuck” Engborg

Hillsborough County – Mary Perry

Merrimack County – Leigh and Bill Mullen

Rockingham County – Phil Consentino

Strafford County – Ralph Appleby

Sullivan County – Dale and Judy Rook