NHDP - Senate Democrats Field Strong Team to Continue Working to Move New Hampshire Forward

Highly qualified group of candidates from every corner of the state file to build on the progress being made by New Hampshire's Democratic majorities
Concord - In an impressive display of solidarity and commitment to continuing the progress made over the past two sessions, over a dozen Democratic candidates for the New Hampshire State Senate filed for election today as a group.
The strong field of candidates officially filing with the Secretary of State's office will help retain a Democratic majority in the Senate and continue the work of moving New Hampshire forward.

"We have attracted a diverse and talented team of Democratic candidates for the New Hampshire State Senate," said Senate President Sylvia Larsen.

"Over the past two years, Democrats have worked hard to create jobs and grow the economy," continued Larsen. "We've also supported small businesses, improved access to affordable health care and provided many new opportunities for energy efficiency. We've continued our commitment to ensuring quality public education and to preserving the safety net for our most vulnerable citizens. And we're protecting our environment while promoting jobs and new opportunities in renewable energy."

Despite the most challenging economic time since the Great Depression, Democratic leadership has delivered for the people of New Hampshire. Currently, Granite State students rank in the top five in key measures of reading and math and the dropout rate has declined 30% to the lowest level in the north east. In addition, New Hampshire is the safest state in the nation, one of the fifth lowest taxed states, the healthiest state, best state to raise a child, and the most the livable state in the nation.
Democrats who filed for senate today:
In District 3, Wolfeboro musician and community activist Beverly Woods filed. Beverly is self-employed as a music educator, computer technician, and a web designer.
In District 8, community activist Harold Perkins of Newport filed to run.  Harold is a former math professor and clergyman.
In District 9, retired aerospace and software engineer, and Chairman of the Bedford Land Trust, Bob Jones filed. Bob and his wife have lived in Bedford for over 25 years, and he is very active in the community, volunteering for various environmental groups including the Life-Long Learning Institute, and St. Matthew's Episcopal Church.
In District 11, community activist and 2008 State Representative candidate Roger Tilton of Milford filed.  Roger has been politically active for over 30 years and is a former money manager and financial advisor.  Currently he serves on the board of directors at New Hampshire peace action, and other non-profits.
In District 14, community activist and former candidate Tammy Siekmann of Londonderry filed. Tammy is the Chair of the Londonderry Democrats.  She lives with her husband Tim, a former Marine.
In District 16, Manchester School Board member at-large Kathy Kelley filed today. Kathy was elected city-wide to her fifth term on the school board in 2009.
In District 17, grassroots activist and 2008 state senate candidate Chaz Proulx of Raymond filed. Chaz is a musician, and was an early supporter of Congresswoman Shea-Porter's.
In District 19, Windham Planning Board member Kristi St. Laurent filed today. Kristi is active in many local groups, including the Windham Presbyterian Church. She and her husband Rob live in Windham with their 3 young children.
In District 22, Becky Fee of Salem, a retired saleswoman and grandmother filed today. Becky has been active in politics for over 40 years, and campaigned heavily for President Obama in 2008. 
Filing today for re-election are; Senate President Sylvia Larsen of Concord, Senate Majority Leader Maggie Hassan of Exeter, Sen. Deb Reynolds of Plymouth, Sen. Matthew Houde of Plainfield, Sen. Molly Kelly of Keene, Sen. Peggy Gilmour of Hollis, Sen. Bette Lasky of Nashua, and Sen. Amanda Merrill of Durham.
Other incumbent Senators who had previously filed for re-election are Sen. Lou D'Allesandro of Manchester, Sen. Jackie Cilley of Barrington, and Sen. Betsi DeVries of Manchester. 

In District 1, Carroll County Commissioner Dorothy Solomon filed on Tuesday. Dorothy is a retired school teacher and lives in Albany with her husband Stan.

Democratic candidates for the remaining seats will be filing at a later time.