Bedford — The Southern New Hampshire Planning Commission awarded the Raymond E. Closson Award to Dave Danielson at its annual meeting held at the Back Room Conference Center on Friday, September 10. Danielson is one of three commissioners representing Bedford to the SNHPC.


Raymond Closson was a founding member of the SNHPC and served representing the City of Manchester for 37 years. He retired from Public Service of New Hampshire after a lifetime of service to that organization. He has served a number of positions for SNHPC including that of Chairman in 1970-1972. He served on the executive committee for additional 30 years.


The award recognizes "excellence in community and regional planning". Danielson has been a commission member for 20 years and served as chairman in 1997-1999 and continues to serve on the executive committee. He is a former chairman of the NH Association of Regional Planning Commissions, is president of the New England Association of Regional Councils, and is a board member of the National Association of Regional Councils where he co-chairs the Energy and Environment Committee.


He was awarded the 2010 John Bosley Leadership Award for "recognitiion of leafership excellence by an individual in advocating regional concepts, approaches, and programs at all levels of government" by the National Association in June.

Danielson is pictured on the left.