NH Majority Leader Praises House GOP Members for Voting Against ObamaCare Funds

CONCORD – House Majority Leader D.J. Bettencourt (R-Salem) today praised House Republicans for remaining united and unanimously voting to reject federal money establishing a  health insurance exchange for the federal health care reform law, often called ObamaCare.  Ultimately, the Legislative Fiscal Committee voted to accept the funds, with the Senate members joining the lone House Democrat, Sharon Nordgren (Hanover), to pass the item by a 6-4 vote.  Republican Representatives Ken Weyler (Kingston), Stephen Stepanek (Amherst), Dan McGuire (Epsom)  and John Reagan (Deerfield) unanimously voted against accepting the ObamaCare money.

 House Majority Leader D.J. Bettencourt

 “I am proud of the Republican House members who stood together and  unanimously voted against bringing ObamaCare to New Hampshire.  We simply cannot afford to allow the federal takeover of our healthcare here in the Granite State.  ObamaCare is an unaffordable, destructive effort that will hurt quality, drive up costs and bankrupt the taxpayers. We should be sending a strong message that we oppose this scheme.  While I am certainly disappointed in the passage of this item, I’m proud that all the House Republicans stood before the gates and said no to this big government disaster.  We will continue to fight ObamaCare wherever we get the opportunity.”