NH Council of Churches - Sign Federal Circle of Protection Letter Today!

Last month the NH Budget Accountability Project (Budgets State Our Moral Values) asked you to join Budget Accountability Project and send individual stories of impacts of state budget cuts.


Today we come asking for you to join the national Circle of Protection, http://www.circleofprotection.us/pdf/Circle-of-Protection-Statement.pdf

 an open letter from clergy across the United States, asking Congress to protect programs that assist the poor.


Religious leaders of NH, by joining the Circle of Protection project or signing the Religious Leaders Circle of Protection letter you join 10,000 clergy standing up for the poor and vulnerable:


+Sign the statement to join the Circle of Protection and

Sign the clergy budget letter  coordinated by Sojourners.


Initiated by every major denomination and faith-based service provider - after one week more than 3,000 pastors added their names!

NHCC denominations plan to join the Religious Leader Open Letter to run in an important Washington, D.C. newspaper this week to ask lawmakers to remember their values when they make budget decisions. 


Last year, hundreds of you stood up for the inalienable right to life and called for abolition of the death penalty. Now the focus has shifted from the Statehouse to the Congress.


You can see the Circle of Protection's original signers below.


Primary Signatories:

Leith Anderson
President, National Association of Evangelicals

Dr. Carroll A. Baltimore Sr.
President, Progressive National Baptist Church

David Beckmann
President, Bread for the World

Geoffrey Black
General Minister and President, United Church of Christ

Bishop Stephen E. Blaire
Bishop of Stockton and Chairman,

Committee on Domestic Justice and Human Development,

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops

Bishop Charles E. Blake
Presiding Bishop, Church of God in Christ

Bishop John R. Bryant
Senior Bishop, African Methodist Episcopal Church

J. Ron Byler
Executive Director, Mennonite Central Committee United States

Sr. Simone Campbell, SSS
Executive Director, NETWORK,

A National Catholic Social Justice Lobby

Patrick Carolyn
Executive Director, Franciscan Action Network

Very Rev. Thomas P. Cassidy, SCJ
President, Conference of Major Superiors of Men

Rev. Peg Chemberlin
President, National Council of Churches of Christ

Rev. Luis Cortes, Jr.
President, Esperanza

Sr. Gayle Lwanga Crumbley, RGS
National Advocacy Center, Sisters of the Good Shepherd

Dave Evans
U.S. President, Food for the Hungry

Joseph Flanagan
National President, National Council of the United States

Society of St. Vincent de Paul, Inc.

Daniel Garcia
International Coordinator, Kairos Prison Ministry International

Wes Granberg-Michaelson
General Secretary, Reformed Church in America

Ken Hackett
President, Catholic Relief Services

Ambassador Tony Hall
Executive Director, Alliance to End Hunger

Dick Hamm
Executive Director, Christian Churches Together in the USA

Bishop Mark S. Hanson
Presiding Bishop, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Herman Harmelink III
Ecumenical Officer, International Council of Community Churches

Mitch Hescox
President, Evangelical Environmental Network

Bishop Thomas L. Hoyt, Jr.
Bishop, Christian Methodist Episcopal Church

Bishop Howard J. Hubbard
Bishop of Albany and Chairman,

Committee on International Justice and Peace,

United States Conference of Catholic Bishops

Sister Mary Hughes, OP
President, Leadership Council of Women Religious

Joel Hunter
Senior Pastor, Northland: A Church Distributed

Michael Kinnamon
General Secretary, National Council of Churches of Christ

The Very Reverend Leonid Kishkovsky
Director of External Affairs and Interchurch Relations,

Orthodox Church in America

Heather Larson
Director of Compassion & Justice Ministries,

Willow Creek Community Church

Dr. Rudi Maier
President & Executive Director,

Adventist Development and Relief Agency

John McCullough
Executive Director and CEO, Church World Service

A. Roy Medley
General Secretary, American Baptist Churches USA

Rich Nathan
Senior Pastor, Vineyard Columbus

Stanley J. Noffsinger
General Secretary, Church of the Brethren

John A. Nunes
President and CEO, Lutheran World Relief

Gradye Parsons
Stated Clerk of the General Assembly,

Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

Bishop Sharon Zimmerman Rader
Ecumenical Officer, Council of Bishops,

United Methodist Church

Robert Radtke
President, Episcopal Relief & Development

Bishop James C. Richardson, Jr.
Presiding Bishop, Apostle Church of Christ in God

Commissioner William A. Roberts
National Commander, The Salvation Army

Samuel Rodriguez
President, National Hispanic Christian Leadership Conference

Bishop Monroe Saunders
Presiding Bishop, United Church of Jesus Christ (Apostolic)

The Most Rev. Katharine Jefferts Schori
Presiding Bishop, The Episcopal Church

Ron Sider
President, Evangelicals for Social Action

Very Rev. Thomas H. Smolich, S.J.
President, Jesuit Conference

Rev. Larry Snyder
President, Catholic Charities USA

Richard Stearns
President, World Vision United States

Ervin R. Stutzman
Executive Director, Mennonite Church USA

Stephen J. Thurston
President, National Baptist Convention of America

R. Lamar Vest
President and CEO, American Bible Society

Daniel Vestal
Executive Coordinator, Cooperative Baptist Fellowship

Berten A. Waggoner
National Director, Vineyard USA

Jim Wallis
President and CEO, Sojourners

Gary Walter
President, Evangelical Covenant Church

George W. C. Walker
Senior Bishop, African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church

Rev. Dr. Sharon Watkins
General Minister and President,

Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)

Rt. Rev. Elijah Williams
General President, The United Holy Church of America






In solidarity,

David Lamarre-Vincent