AFPNH - Healthcare and Education to Be Debated in Concord


First, the NH General Court has returned this week and legislators in the House and Senate are continuing their work toward Crossover Day on March 29. There are several pieces of legislation we are currently monitoring.

Yesterday, I testified before the House Commerce and Consumer Affairs Committee on HB 1560 which would allow NH to enter into an Interstate Healthcare Compact.

Also being considered this session is CACR 12 which would provide the general court with the authority to define standards for public education, establish standards of accountability, mitigate local disparities in educational opportunity and fiscal capacity, and have full discretion to determine the amount of state funding for education. CACR 12 presents an opportunity for our representatives in Concord to take this issue out of the courts and put it back into the hands of the communities where it belongs.

I encourage you to learn more about both pieces of legislation. We will keep you posted on any updates on their status.

Second, please see below the details of two upcoming events you may want to attend.

This SATURDAY, March 10, Speaker of the House Bill O'Brien will be at Salem High School from 4PM-6PM for a town hall with members of the NH House Republican Leadership. The event is open to the public and questions will be taken from the audience.

Also our second annual Conservative of the Year banquet will be held on Friday, April 20 at 6PM at the Grappone Center in Concord where we will honor U.S. Senator Kelly Ayotte as our 2012 “Conservative of the Year.” We have been privileged to assemble an outstanding group to help host this event. I want to thank all of them in advance for their support of AFPF-NH and Senator Ayotte. The list includes:

Mr. Jamie Dingman, Dinner Chairman. 

Honorary Banquet Co-Chairmen: U.S. Congressman Charlie Bass; U.S. Congressman Frank Guinta; Governor Stephen E. Merrill; Governor John H. Sununu; U.S. Senator Judd Gregg; and U.S. Senator John E. Sununu.

Members of the Host Committee include: Hon. DJ Bettencourt; Sen. Jeb Bradley; Senate President Peter Bragdon; Hon. Bruce Breton; Steve Duprey; Sen. Jeanie Forrester; Jennifer Horn; Ovide Lamontagne; Sen. Bob Letourneau; Clark Lindley; Sean Mahoney; Shannon McGinley; House Speaker Bill O’Brien; Wayne Semprini; Kevin Smith; John Stabile; Hon. Chris Sununu; Tom Thomson; Hon. Pam Tucker; Jack & Brenda Tulley; Hon. Ray Wieczorek; and Hon. Bill Zeliff.

I encourage you to purchase tickets to this can’t-miss event by visiting

Tickets are $75/per person or $750/per table of 10.

Finally, as you may have seen, March 1 was Meredith Hatfield’s last day as NH Consumer Advocate. We will keep you apprised on the search for her successor.



Corey R. Lewandowski
State Director
Americans for Prosperity New Hampshire

P.S. CLICK HERE to get your tickets to our Conservative of the Year banquet today!