NHDP - Another Day, Another Tea Partier in District 9

Rep. Ken Hawkins is the latest of Bill O'Brien's Tea Party Radicals to Declare for District Nine Senate Seat


Concord - Another day and another radical Tea Party ally of Speaker Bill O'Brien has thrown his hat in the race to represent the Republican Party in State Senate District 9.


Rep. Ken Hawkins announced today that he would be the latest Republican to enter the race, making it clear that it is the Tea Party and not the voters of the district that Bill O'Brien and state Republicans wish to win over and represent.


"While Democratic candidates are focusing on supporting businesses' efforts to create jobs and build the economy," said Collin Gately, a spokesperson for the New Hampshire Democratic Party said, "the Tea Party ticket in District 9 is focused on eliminating the state's responsibility for education, overturning consumer protections and meddling in women's health care."


Hawkins recently voted in the House to let oil companies take pre-buy money from consumers and never deliver their oil, and to let out-of-state companies charge 300 percent interest rates on loans. 


Hawkins joins a crowded field of Republicans who have announced plans to potentially run.  It is a veritable who's-who of Tea Party loyalists that include Senator Andy Sanborn, who doesn't even live in the district; and Rep. John Cebrowski.


Cebrowski voted along with Hawkins in the House to let oil companies take advantage of consumers and all three voted to let out-of-state lenders charge outrageous interest rates on New Hampshire families.  


"Hawkins should feel right at home joining Cebrowski and Sanborn (once the district is, in fact, his home) in standing up for Bill O'Brien's radical Tea Party agenda and not the voters of New Hampshire," said Gately. "This ticket, which already includes one Bill O'Brien rubber stamp and a carpetbagger clearly shows that politics, and not the voters of District 9, are their top priority."


Hawkins and Cebrowski votes: HB581, 1/4/2012, SB160, 1/4/2012 

Sanborn vote: SB160, 3/21/2012