U.S. Rep. Guinta congratulates student art competition winner

Commends all participants, will attend reception on Monday 5/14

 (WASHINGTON – May 9, 2012)    U.S. Representative Frank Guinta is recognizing participants in the annual Congressional Art Competition for New Hampshire’s First Congressional District.

The Congressional Institute sponsors a nationwide high school visual art competition each spring to recognize and encourage artistic talent around the nation and in each congressional district. 

This year’s first place award goes to Michele Vlasich of Strafford, NH, a senior at Coe-Brown Northwood Academy.  Her oil on canvas painting titled “Secrets of the Soul” will represent the First Congressional District in the U.S. Capitol in this year’s student art exhibit.  She will also be awarded a scholarship from the New Hampshire Institute of Art.

Congressman Guinta will personally congratulate Michele at the Congressional Art Competition Reception.  It will be held at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, May 14th at the New Hampshire Institute of Art’s Amherst Street Gallery, 77 Amherst Street in Manchester.

Guinta said:  “It’s important to support Granite State students and to encourage them to develop their artistic talents.  I congratulate Michele and all the students who participated in this great program.  I also thank the New Hampshire Institute of Art for their involvement, and for helping talented young people to achieve their dreams.”

Participants in this year’s competition in the First Congressional District included: 

Mary Espaillat, Londonderry High School;

Amanda Bentley, Londonderry High School;

Mariah Geiger, Londonderry High School;

Que Zhang, Phillips Exeter Academy;

Erica Kolenski, Goffstown High School;

Erin T. Hussey, Goffstown High School;

Megan Dodge, Goffstown High School;

Elizabeth Sikes, Goffstown High School;

Caitlyn Boutin, Goffstown High School;

Gavriella Risman-Jones, Goffstown High School;

Scott Schaaf, Goffstown High School;

Natasha Young, Goffstown High School;

Niti Bista, Manchester Memorial;

Ariel Clachar, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Kyle Hanson, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Stephen D. Munroe, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Connor P. Bell, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Meghan Ahern, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Leah Hastings, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Andrew Dow, Coe-Brown  Northwood Academy;

Nikki Grant, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Quinn Palmer, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Courtney Turcotte, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Leanne Baratier, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Kayla Bane, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Moriah Mazzochi, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Megan Curtin, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy;

Anna Goscinski, Coe-Brown Northwood Academy.