ConservAmerica Applauds GOP Senators Upholding Clean Air Rule

June 20, 2012
For Immediate Release

ConservAmerica Applauds GOP Senators Voting to Uphold Clean Air Rule

ConservAmerica, a national grassroots organization of conservation-minded Republicans, applauds five Republican senators who voted today to uphold a Clean Air Act rule limiting emissions of mercury and other hazardous air pollutants from coal-burning power plants.
Senators Lamar Alexander (TN), Kelly Ayotte (NH), Scott Brown (MA), Susan Collins (ME), and Olympia Snowe (ME) were part of a majority that blocked a resolution to overturn the rule.
President Ronald Reagan correctly pointed out that the “preservation of our environment is not a partisan challenge; it’s common sense.”
“We appreciate Senators Alexander, Ayotte, Brown, Collins, and Snowe for casting principled votes for clean air. Cleaning up pollution that blows across state lines protects the health of American families in downwind states, reduces health care costs, supports jobs, and encourages a diverse mix of energy resources,” David Jenkins, ConservAmerica vice president for government affairs, said.
“The five senators are thoughtful conservatives who recognize the value of stewardship and who will not be bullied by out-of-state special interests. We need more like them,” Jenkins added.
“All five stood up for the conservative ethic that individuals and companies should take responsibility for their actions. As President Reagan said, laws protecting the environment promote liberty by securing our lives and property against the destructive trespass of pollution,” Rob Sisson, ConservAmerica president, said.
In adopting the mercury rule, EPA was following Congress' direction. The Clean Air Act was both enacted and strengthened with strong Republican support. Senators Alexander, Ayotte, Brown, Collins, and Snowe voting to uphold an important Clean Air Act rule was in keeping with that proud legacy,” Sisson said.


Jim DiPeso
Policy Director