NHDP - Elects Officers

Concord, NH - The New Hampshire Democratic Party held it's State Committee Meeting today where it elected six officers and five members of the Rules Committee.


"The officers of the NHDP are committed to supporting the leadership of President Obama, Senator Shaheen and Congresswomen Shea-Porter and Kuster as they work to move America forward. We are dedicated to the success of Governor Hassan and our Democratic legislators as they make New Hampshire the envy of the country. We are grateful for the public's trust in our abilities and look forward to a successful 2014", said newly reelected NHDP State Chair Ray Buckley.


Buckley of Manchester was reelected to his fourth term as State Chair. He has been active in Democratic Politics since he was eight years old when he volunteered on his first campaign. Prior to his election as State Chair, he served four terms as a NHDP Vice Chair and served in the NH House of Representatives for 18 years. Buckley held several staff positions at the NHDP office, including four years as Executive Director and two cycles as NH Coordinated Campaign Director. He is also currently President of the Association of State Democratic Chairs and Vice-Chair of the Democratic National Committee.


First Vice-Chair Senator Martha Fuller Clark of Portsmouth was elected to her fourth term. Senator Fuller Clark is currently serving as the Assistant Democratic Leader in her fourth term in the NH Senate following six terms in the New Hampshire House. Senator Fuller Clark is a member of the Democratic National Committee, serving on the Resolutions Committee. Senator Fuller Clark participates on many different boards and commissions in her community. She presently serves as President of the Board of Strawberry Banke, as an advisor to the National Trust for Historic Preservation, and is the past President of Scenic America.


Dorothy Solomon of Albany was reelected for her third term as 2nd Vice-Chair of the NHDP. Solomon is a former County Commissioner representing Carroll County. As Commissioner, she has been an advocate for working families in the district and was instrumental in bringing a new county nursing home to the region. Solomon was previously elected the NHDP Secretary and served for many years as the Carroll County Democratic Chair.


Senator Bette Lasky of Nashua was reelected to her 2nd term as NHDP Secretary. Senator Lasky was elected in November to her second term as State Senator, following five terms in the New Hampshire House. Active in local and state politics for many years, Senator Lasky has been the Chairman of the Nashua City Planning Board, a Nashua City Selectman, and Vice Chair of the Nashua Democratic City Committee. She has served her community on the Board of Directors for Girls Inc., the Disabilities Rights Center, and the NH Association for the Blind.


Brian Rapp of Claremont was elected to his first full term as Treasurer, having been elected to that position in August of last year. Rapp currently serves on the School Board in Claremont. Rapp lives with his wife and two children in Claremont where he works as a professional firefighter. He is an active member of the NH Professional Firefighters Association.


Attorney Dan McKenna of Derry was elected to his first term as Legal Counsel for the NHDP. McKenna is an attorney at the firm of Maureen Raiche Manning PLLC. He formerly served one term in the New Hampshire House, currently serves as a member of the Derry School board and is on the Board of Directors for Southern New Hampshire Services. McKenna was a member of the 2012 Democratic Voter Protection Legal Team.


Also elected at Saturday's meeting were six members of the NHDP Rules Committee. Pam Jorgensen of Londonderry, Mike Rollo of Rollinsford, Eric Tolbert Kilchenstein of Concord, Jackie Weatherspoon of Exeter, John Hattan of Concord, and John Knowles of Hudson will serve two year terms.


Democratic National Committee members Attorney Kathy Sullivan of Manchester, and former Senator Peter Burling of Cornish were unanimously reelected to a second term in April 2012. DNC member at large Joanne Dowdell of Portsmouth is appointed by the Chair of the DNC.