Governor Hassan Announces New Hampshire Counties Have Received Federal Major Disaster Declaration for February Storm

Office of New Hampshire Governor Maggie Hassan

CONCORD, N.H. –Governor Maggie Hassan announced today that President Obama has granted New Hampshire’s request for a major disaster declaration for the severe winter storm that occurred February 8-10.


The declaration covers Belknap, Carroll, Cheshire, Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham, Strafford and Sullivan counties. It will provide for reimbursement of 75 percent of the expenses of responding to the record and near-record snowfalls by the state and municipal governments and eligible non-profit organizations.


“February’s storm put a significant strain on our local communities, and the ongoing winter weather has pushed snow removal budgets to the limits,” Governor Hassan said. “The major declaration will allow communities to apply for critical funds that will help provide relief and replenish resources.”


The statewide cost of responding to the storm was estimated at nearly $5 million.


The disaster assistance will be managed by the N.H. Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management. Applicant briefings for entities seeking disaster assistance will be held the week of April 1.

An important criterion in determining eligibility for disaster aid is whether a county has received record or near-record snowfall. Carroll County received 30.5 inches of snow during the storm, an increase of 160 percent over the previous record of 19 inches. Hillsborough County received 25.5 inches and Rockingham County received 24.1 inches during the storm.