NH House - Leadership positions


Jasper Selects strong Republican team to drive New Hampshire's Agenda


Concord--- NH House Speaker Shawn Jasper (r-Hudson) today announced  his leadership team that will preside over the House standing committees over the next biennium.  The newly elected leader of the New Hampshire House of Representatives called upon a number of veteran republican legislators, as well as several lawmakers who will be serving in a leadership role for the first time.”


“I have made it clear from the beginning that I would be all inclusive in putting together our leadership team,” said Jasper.  “I am proud to be working with a team of leaders,  representing a diverse and talented cross section of our party,  that will help us develop and drive an agenda addressing critical issues of concern to the people and future of our state,” he added. “During our upcoming caucus on December 17 we will begin to develop our agenda from the ground up through an exchange of ideas from within our caucus.  We have been given the opportunity to lead and I look forward to getting to work on the issues that really matter to the people we all were sent to Concord to represent. "


The  Finance Committee, key to the formation of the next biennial state budget,  will be chaired by Neal Kurk (r-Weare) a veteran of the committee and former chair who is entering his 15th term as a member of the House.  Each of the three committee divisions will chaired by members with a strong background in finance .  Lynne Ober (r-Hudson), entering her sixth term in the House, will serve as vice chair for the Finance Committee and will also preside as chairman of Division 1.   David Danielson (r-Bedford) will serve as the vice-chair for Division 1.  The Division II chair will be Karen Umberger (r-Kearsarge).  She will be assisted by Vice Chair Laurie Sanborn (r-Bedford).  Heading up Division III of Finance will be Richard Barry (r-Merrimack).  Serving as his Vice Chair will be Betsy McKinney (r-Londonderry), a veteran lawmaker beginning her 16th term.


The Ways and Means Committee, which considers and reports on all bills and resolutions relating to raising money, will be chaired once again by Norman Major (r-Kingston), entering his 10th term in the House, and also a former chair of the committee. Patrick  Abrami (r-Stratham) will serve as the vice chair.


Sherm Packard (r-Londonderry) a former Republican leader and committee chair,  entering his 13th term,  will serve as Speaker Pro Tempore.  Richard Hinch (r-Merrimack) was named the Majority Whip and Kathleen Hoelzel (r-Raymond) will serve as his deputy. Previously announced to leadership positions were Gene Chandler (r-Bartlett) as Deputy Speaker and Jack Flanagan (r-Brookline) as Majority Leader.


Additional leadership positions, including the deputy majority leader will be announced in the next few days.


Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the remaining committees include:


Children and Family Law:

Carolyn Gargasz (r-Hollis), Chair

Debra I. DeSimone (r-Atkinson) Vice Chair

Commerce and Consumer Affairs

John B. Hunt (r-Rindge) Chair

Laura Jones (r-Rochester) Vice Chair

Criminal Justice and Public Safety

John E. Tholl, Jr. (r-Whitefield) Chair

David A. Welch  (r-Kingston)  Vice Chair


Rick Ladd (r-Haverhill) Chair

John Balcom (r-Merrimack) Vice Chair

Election Law

Kathleen M. Hoelzel (r-Raymond) Chair

James P. Gray (r-Rochester) Vice Chair

Environment & Agriculture

Robert Haefner (r-Hudson) Chair

John T. O’Connor (r-Derry) Vice Chair

Executive Departments & Administration

Andrew Christie (r-Hampton Falls) Chair

John Sytek (r-Salem) Vice Chair

Fish and Game and Marine Resources

David Kidder (r-New London) Chair

Jim Webb (r-Derry) Vice Chair

Health, Human Services and Elderly Affairs

Frank R. Kotowski (r-Hooksett) Chair

Donald LeBrun (r-Nashua) Vice Chair


Robert Rowe (r-Amherst) Chair

Joe Hagan (r-Chester) Vice Chair

Labor, Industrial and Rehabilitative Services

William Infantine (r-Manchester) Chair

Tammy Simmons (r-Manchester) Vice Chair

Legislative Administration

Richard Hinch (r-Merrimack) Chair

Jack Flanagan (r-Brookline) Vice Chair

Municipal and County Government

James Belanger (r-Hollis) Chair

Frank Sterling (r-Jaffrey) Vice Chair

Public Works and Highways

Gene G. Chandler (r-Bartlett) Chair

Mark McConkey (r-Freedom) Vice Chair

Resources, Recreation and Development

Chris Christensen (r-Merrimack) Chair

Beverly A. Ferrante (r-Derry) Vice Chair


Shawn Jasper (r-Hudson) Chair

Gene G. Chandler (r-Bartlett) Vice Chair

Science, Technology and Energy

Robert Introne (r-Londonderry) Chair

Herb Richardson (r-Lancaster) Vice Chair

State-Federal Relations and Veterans Affairs

Russell T. Ober (r-Hudson) Chair

Phillip Straight (r-Merrimack) Vice Chair


Steven D. Smith (r-Charleston) Chair

Thomas Walsh (r-Manchester) Vice Chair