NH House - House Deputy Majority Leader Named


Six New House Members Also Sworn In


Concord—Speaker of the NH House Shawn Jasper added another member to his leadership team today with the naming of Rep. Steve Schmidt (r-Wolfeboro) as the Deputy Majority Leader to Rep. Jack Flanagan (r-Brookline). Schmidt, retired as a Directior at Verizon Communications, is entering his third term as a member of the NH Legislature.  “I am honored to be asked to join the leadership team that Speaker Jasper has put together,” said Schmidt. “I look forward to working with Majority Leader Flanagan as we move forward.  I know progress has already been made following a successful caucus. We have established a list of goals and I am anxious to get to work with our members in helping to move our agenda forward in the House,” he added.


Rep. Flanagan cited Schmidt’s strong business background as just one asset that he brings to the team. “Rep. Schmidt’s  commitment to bringing forth a strong budget without no new taxes, his interests in education and in developing a strong business environment in New Hampshire will make him an invaluable member of our leadership team,” said Flanagan.


Six new members of the New Hampshire Legislature, who could not be in attendance on oganization day, were sworn in today by Governor Maggie Hassan prior to the Executive Countil meeting.  Christopher Adams (R-Brookline) and Jason Parent (R-Northfield) were sworn in for the first time as members of the legislature.  Incumbents who took the oath this morning included Virginia Irwin (D-Newport); Richard Barry (R-Merrimack); Gary Hopper (R-Weare); and Ted Rokas (D-Manchester).


The NH House will convene for its first session on January 7, 2015.