NH DHHS - Senior Volunteers to be Honored for their Service

Concord, NH – New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)

Commissioner Nicholas Toumpas will join with Governor Maggie Hassan, the

State Committee on Aging (SCOA) and EngAGING NH on Monday, May 5th to

present the Joseph D. Vaughan Awards to senior volunteers. SCOA and

EngAGING NH have selected an individual or couple from each county to be

recognized for their volunteer service. This award was initiated in 1962

to memorialize the Honorable Joseph D. Vaughan, who was instrumental in

creating a State agency dedicated to the well being of senior citizens.

The awards recognize people age 60 and older for their outstanding

volunteer efforts on behalf of New Hampshire’s seniors. The Vaughan Award

presentation will begin at 1:30 PM in the Governor and Council Chamber at

the State House in Concord.

This year's recipients are:

Belknap County: Emily LaPlante of Tilton

Carroll County: William Volk of North Conway

Cheshire County: Tuck and Bobbie Gilbert of Jaffrey

Coos County: Patricia Riley of Gorham

Grafton County: Maud Thompson of Littleton

Hillsborough County: Jim Orr of Peterborough

Merrimack County: Doris Morrow of Newbury

Rockingham County: Elaine Houde of Salem

Strafford County: Richard Cooper of Dover

Sullivan County: Elaine Bevilacqua of Goshen.

EVENT 2014 Vaughan Award Presentation

DATE Monday, May 5th

1:30 PM

LOCATION Governor and Council Chamber

Room 208

State House

Concord, NH