NH DHHS - New Hampshire Seniors Recognized for Volunteer Service

Concord, NH – New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

Commissioner (DHHS) Nicholas Toumpas and Governor Maggie Hassan joined with

the State Committee on Aging (SCOA) and EngAGING NH to recognize this

year’s recipients of the Vaughan Awards. The Joseph D. Vaughan Awards are

presented annually to a couple or individual from each county who are 60 or

older and have demonstrated outstanding leadership and volunteer service on

behalf of senior citizens across New Hampshire.

"One of my favorite things about New Hampshire is the 'all-hands-on-deck'

spirit of our people," Governor Hassan said. "We roll up our sleeves, pitch

in and work together to improve our communities. The Vaughan Award winners

exemplify that spirit, and on behalf of all Granite Staters, I thank the

recipients for their unyielding dedication to helping their neighbors and

for service to their community."

The Joseph D. Vaughan Award was initiated in 1962 to memorialize the

Honorable Joseph D. Vaughan, a New Hampshire legislator. Vaughan was an

early advocate for older residents of the state and was instrumental in

creating a State agency dedicated to the well being of senior citizens.

“New Hampshire’s senior volunteers are a vital part of our communities,”

said DHHS Commissioner Nicholas Toumpas. “They bring a lifetime of

experience to the organizations they serve. All our lives are enriched by

their service. We thank and recognize our Vaughan Award winners and all

our senior volunteers for the countless hours they give to helping improve

the lives of others.”

This year’s Vaughan Award recipients are:

Belknap County: Emily LaPlante of Tilton

Carroll County: William Volk of North Conway

Cheshire County: Tuck and Bobbie Gilbert of Jaffrey

Coos County: Patricia Riley of Gorham

Grafton County: Maud Thompson of Littleton

Hillsborough County: Jim Orr of Peterborough

Merrimack County: Doris Morrow of Newbury

Rockingham County: Elaine Houde of Salem

Strafford County: Richard Cooper of Dover

Sullivan County: Elaine Bevilacqua of Goshen.