New Hampshire Democratic Party Officers Unopposed for Election


Concord, NH – As of 5PM today the filing to become an officer of the New Hampshire Democratic Party for the 2016 election cycle closed. All current officers filed for re-election and face no filed challengers. Officers will be officially elected by the State Committee on Saturday, March 7th.

“Two years ago the members of the State Committee put their trust in this group of officers to ensure we had a successful 2014. The officers of the NHDP worked tirelessly with our candidates and local committees to make sure we had the best grassroots organization possible. The results of this past election are a testament to the fact that we have strong and vibrant local committees all across the state that played a critical role in re-electing Governor Maggie Hassan, Senator Jeanne Shaheen and Congresswoman Annie Kuster. We look forward to growing our Party even more as we look ahead to 2016.” said NHDP Chair Raymond Buckley.

New Hampshire Democrats bucked national trends this past November while many states suffered Democratic losses. We re-elected our Governor, making this the 9th win out of the last 10 races, we re-elected our U.S. Senator, the first time we’ve re-elected a Democrat to the Senate since 1972, we held onto the 2nd Congressional District and came closer to holding the 1st District than we did in 2010. Our losses down ballot were far less than that of 2010, creating great opportunities for us to regain our Majorities in 2016.

Buckley of Manchester is seeking reelection to his fifth term as State Chair. He has been active in Democratic Politics since he was eight years old when he volunteered on his first campaign. Prior to his election as State Chair, he served four terms as a NHDP Vice Chair and served in the NH House of Representatives for 18 years. Buckley held several staff positions at the NHDP office, including four years as Executive Director and two cycles as NH Coordinated Campaign Director. He is also currently President of the Association of State Democratic Chairs and Vice-Chair of the Democratic National Committee.

Running unopposed for a fifth term is First Vice-Chair Senator Martha Fuller Clark of Portsmouth. Senator Fuller Clark is currently serving as the Assistant Democratic Leader in her fifth term in the NH Senate following six terms in the New Hampshire House. Senator Fuller Clark is a member of the Democratic National Committee, serving on the resolutions committee. 

Dorothy Solomon of Albany is running unopposed for her fourth term as 2nd Vice-Chair of the NHDP. Solomon is a former County Commissioner representing Carroll County. As Commissioner, she has been an advocate for working families in the district and was instrumental in bringing a new county nursing home to the region. Solomon was previously elected the NHDP Secretary and served for many years as the Carroll County Democratic Chair.

Senator Bette Lasky of Nashua is running for her 3rd term as NHDP Secretary. Senator Lasky was elected in November to her third term as State Senator, following five terms in the New Hampshire House. Active in local and state politics for many years, Senator Lasky has been the Chairman of the Nashua City Planning Board, a Nashua City Selectman, and Vice Chair of the Nashua Democratic City Committee. She has served her community on the Board of Directors for Girls Inc., the Disabilities Rights Center, and the NH Association for the Blind. Senator Lasky also serves as the Democratic Whip in the senate.

Brian Rapp of Claremont is running for his second term as Treasurer. Rapp currently serves on the School Board in Claremont. Rapp lives with his wife and two children in Claremont where he works as a professional firefighter. He is an active member of the NH Professional Firefighters Association.

Attorney Dan McKenna of Derry is running for his second term as Legal Counsel for the NHDP. McKenna is an attorney at the firm of Manning & Zimmerman PLLC. He formerly served one term in the New Hampshire House, currently serves as a member of the Derry School board and is on the Board of Directors for Southern New Hampshire Services. McKenna was a member of the 2012 and 2014 Democratic Voter Protection Legal Team.

Our members of the Democratic National Committee, Kathy Sullivan and William Shaheen serve as officers of the NHDP; they will be up for re-election in 2016. DNC Member At-Large Joanne and Governor Maggie Hassan, who serves as Vice Chair of the Democratic Governors Association, serve as officers of the NHDP as well.