Press Releases



NetRight Daily: Dropping Like Flies at the White House 

White House Shakeup, Greg Craig Leaving Obama Administration:  Anita Dunn, Greg Craig, Van Jones, who is next? Valerie Jarrett? David Axelrod? Dare I suggest, Rahm Emanuel? Any or all of those three can go..

VIDEO:  Senator Jeff Sessions discusses Health Care, Judicial Nominees and the Obama administration.

Capitalize on Respect:  Despite all the obstacles to success that the Obama administration is trying to impose, small business owners and their employees have cause to be optimistic.  The American public simply does not believe the current socialist rhetoric demonizing Capitalism.

Voters Want Green... In Their Wallets:  As the fallout continues to settle from the 2009 elections, among the more overlooked results was a ballot issue in Boulder County, Colorado that would have extended an existing sales tax to fund the acquisition of additional "open space."

Be sure to follow us on Twitter!


CEI Weekly: Celebrating the Fall of the Berlin Wall 

>>CEI Commemorates the 20th Anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall

[Video] CEI Studios Produces Video Commemorating the Fall of the Berlin Wall

CEI marked the anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall on Monday, November 9th, with a video which depicted the ruinous effects the wall had on the lives of those who live in Berlin. The video was linked to by several bloggers such as Michelle Malkin and John Stossel, as well as by several organizations, such as the Heartland Institute and In Defence of Liberty.

Additionally, Fred Smith, with a blog post, highlighted the emotional toll that the Berlin Wall took on those who lived in Berlin. 

>>Shaping the Debate

Sued for Success

Ryan Radia's op-ed in

Should We Be Worried About Cell Phones and Cancer

Ryan Young's article in Opposing Views

Government Can't Marshall Doctors Who Aren't There

Alex Nowrasteh's letter to the editor in the Wall Street Journal

>>Best of the Blogs

Insurance Industry Stung by Health Care Deal

by Gregory Conko

With much of the health care reform debate still focused on the wisdom of including a government-run, “public” health insurance “option,” too many opponents are neglecting a far more insidious feature of the Democratic proposals:  the mandatory purchase requirement.  Under each of the bills moving through Congress, every person living in the United States would be required by law to have health insurance.

Unemployment Skyrockets: "U.S. Now Beating European Unemployment Rates"

by Hans Bader

Unemployment is now higher in the U.S. than in Europe,  reports the Washington Post.  “The official U.S. unemployment rate, reported last Friday, now stands at 10.2 percent,” compared to “9.7 percent” in Europe.   This is the highest rate in more than 26 years, and marks a huge change from the recent past, in which unemployment was double the American rate in much of Europe, such as in France. Unemployment is at 10 percent in France, which refused to adopt a U.S.-style stimulus package, and only 7.6 percent in Germany, which adopted a stimulus package that was smaller relative to its economy than ours was.

Pfizer to Close Facility Behind Kelo Case

by Marc Scribner

Yesterday, Pfizer announced it was closing its research and development facility in New London, Connecticut. This is the same complex that was at the center of the redevelopment plan at issue in Kelo v. New London. This turn of events underscores the argument, often employed by eminent domain opponents, that government-sponsored development corporations lack the economic foresight to efficiently make long-term development investment decisions.

 >>Liberty Week Podcast

Liberty Week 68: Take From the Rich, Give to Yourself

We start with Saturday night’s healthcare vote in the House, Freddie Mac’s losing bets and a gift card scandal in Charm City. We then move on to Andrew Cuomo’s attack on Intel in New York and Josh tells us why we can expect more tax hikes in the future.

>>Support CEI

Like what you read?

The Competitive Enterprise Institute’s 25-year record of success is made possible by our over 3,000 supporters. Make sure to stop by and make a donation to continue your support or become a supporter. Curious about all the possible ways to donate to CEI? Contact Al Canata at or 202-331-2280 to find out more.  




Daily Grind: Voters Want Green... In Their Wallets 

Voters Want Green… In Their Wallets
More from the fallout elections of 2009.

How "Comparative Effectiveness" Can Cost You Your Life
The phrase "Comparative Effectiveness" is becoming increasingly in vogue among Obama health care advocates.

The Overnights from NetRight Nation
This week Executive Director of NetRight Nation, Adam Bitely, discusses the importance of twitter to politicians.

Too Hot Not To Note: No, term limits is not a fool's errand
The Editorial Page Editor at the Washington Examiner, Mark Tapscott, discusses the current term limits proposal that just hit Congress.


CHQ - Pelosi Uses Chicago Politics to Pass "Obamacare"

Pelosi Uses Chicago-Style Politics to Pass House Version of Obamacare - It didn't matter to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi that Democrat Bill Owens was not certified by the State of New York when she swore him into office right before the House voted on its version of Obamacare.  Chicago-style politics, and all of its corruption, has made its way into the United States Congress, where Democrats will do whatever it takes to ensure their Far Left agenda is passed.  [Read the Blog Here]

Other Articles at News From The Front:

Continue to Lie, Mr. Crist.
Center for Individual Freedom - Florida Governor Charlie Crist already has his hands full with challenger Marco Rubio steadily gaining endorsements from conservative individuals and organizations.  Now, Crist is digging himself a deeper hole as he continues to lie about his support for Obama's $787 billion stimulus boondoggle. 

Obama Wants ACORN Fundraiser on Federal Bench
Washington DC Examiner - On Nov. 17, the Senate is projected to vote on the judicial nomination of Judge David Hamilton.  Hamilton, an Obama nominee, was previously a fundraiser for the corrupt ACORN organization, and has shown to be extremely hostile to Christians.  The Washington DC Examiner writes that Hamilton is "considered the most extreme judicial nominee thus far from Obama."

Find these articles and more at News From The Front

Daily Lickskillet: What is Maggie's group affiliation?


Daily News from the Veterans Today Network 

On the Protest Firing Lines



by Gordon Duff, Staff Writer - For 2 years, veterans have protested the misuse of veterans land, not "government" land, land donated to build housing for vets long ago.  Instead, you see private swimming pools, tennis courts and a running track behind a million dollar fence.  The words on the fence read, LOS ANGELES VETERANS PARK.
Read More >>>

Today's Featured Stories... 
Top 10 Veterans News from Around the Country 11-13-09  
Regional Veterans' News  
Continued resistance from Eikenberry raises serious questions about our overall strategy.  
Caregiver Tips for Those with Dementias - Alzheimer's
U.S. Department of Defense Announces Latest Contract Awards 
How the US Funds the Taliban