Edwards Campaign Announces NH Education Leadership Committee

Education Leadership Committee to Advise Campaign on Education Issues, Help Spread the Message about Edwards’ Bold Education Plan

(Manchester, NH) - Today, coinciding with the release of Senator Edwards’ education plan, the Edwards for President campaign announced its New Hampshire Education Leadership Committee. This group of over 30 education leaders from across the state have endorsed Senator Edwards, and they will advise the campaign on education issues and help spread the message of Edwards’ plan to restore the promise of America's schools.

“Edwards’ bold plan will help restore the promise of America’s schools,” said Brian Wazlaw, a leading member of Edwards’ Education Leadership Committee. “He will provide universal pre-school, help train and recruit better teachers while reducing class sizes, and reform the No Child Left Behind Act so it focuses on the students, rather than tests.”

“New Hampshire voters are looking for substance and bold ideas,” Elizabeth Edwards, who is attending Grantieroots house parties to discuss Senator Edwards’ newly released education policy, said. “John has led the field with bold new policies to provide truly universal health care, end the war in Iraq, and halt global warming while creating good paying jobs. He continues to lead today with this new policy to provide quality education to all our children.”

The members of the committee are:


Ed Beattie, History Teacher and Girls Varsity Basketball Coach at Winnacunnet High School and Prominent Seacoast Activist


Arthur Beaudry, Manchester School Board Member


Barbara Kuhlman Brown, Former Chair of the Concord School Board


Carol Brown, Keene School Board Member


Frank Callaghan, Rochester School Board Member


Chris Coates, Keene School Board Member


Dick Courtney, Dover Democratic Committeeman and Prominent Education Advocate


James Culverhouse, Milton School Board Member


Rep. Frank Davis, State Representative from Pembroke and Retired Teacher


Rep. Judy Day, North Hampton, Member of the House Education Committee


Charles DeVito, Rochester School Board Member


Rep. Tim Dunn, Keene, Vice-Chair of the New Hampshire House Education Committee


Curtis Finney, Special Education Teacher and President of the Conway Education Association


Marjorie Fisher, Chair of the Dover School Board


Kelly French, Nelson School Board Member


Jon Gross, Former Manchester School Board Member


Senator Joe Foster, Nashua, Vice-Chair of the New Hampshire Senate Education Committee


Joan MacSweeney, Hudson Kindergarten Teacher and Prominent Education Advocate


Phil MacSweeney, Hudson teacher and Prominent Education Advocate


Caroline McCarley, Former Chair, Rochester School Board, 1989-1999, Former State Senator


Joanne McHugh, Hooksett School Board Member


Kristin McKeon, West Chesterfield School Board Member


Mary Ann Melizzi-Golja, Nashua School Board Member


Deborah H. Bacon Nelson, English Teacher, Lebanon School District, and Prominent Upper Valley Activist


Maura Ouellette, Hooksett School Board Member


Carrolle Popovich, Strafford School Board Member


Chris Seibel, Hanover School Councilor


Audrey Stevens, Rochester School Board Member


Ann Walker, Portsmouth School Board Member


Rep. Bob Watson, State Representative and Rochester School Board Member


Brian Wazlaw, Laboratory Safety Officer, Exeter School District, and Retired Science Department Chair, Exeter High School, Member of the NEA’s Executive Board representing the Seacoast Region


Brenda Willis, Derry School Board Member


Senator Edwards’ full K-12 education policy can be read at www.johnedwards.com/issues