Press Releases


Entries in Awards (230)


NH Committee on Aging - State Seeking Nominees to be Honored for Volunteer Service to Seniors

Concord,  NH  –  The State Committee on Aging and EngAGING NH are accepting
nominations  for  the  annual  Joseph  D. Vaughan Awards.  An individual or
couple from each county in New Hampshire will receive the Joseph D. Vaughan
Award  at  a  special ceremony in May in the Governor and Executive Council
Chambers at the State House.

This  award  was  initiated  in 1962 to memorialize the Honorable Joseph D.
Vaughan,  who  was instrumental in creating a State agency dedicated to the
well-being  of  senior  citizens.  The awards recognize people 60 years and
older  for their outstanding volunteer efforts on behalf of New Hampshire’s

For  more  information  about  the  nomination  criteria  and process or to
request  a  nomination  form,  email  award  coordinator  Roger  Vachon  at or 603-223-6903.


Reception Honoring 2015 Citizens's Arts Advocate of the Year Tim Sink 

Reception for 2015 Citizens' Arts Advocate of the Year Tim Sink

and Beethoven Forever Concert


Concord, NH -- On Friday, January 23rd, 2015, New Hampshire Citizens for the Arts is honoring Timothy Sink, President, Concord Chamber of Commerce for being a champion of the arts.  A reception in his honor will be held at the Robert M. Larsen Gallery in Concord located at 29 School Street. The reception begins at 6:30pm and includes remarks from Symphony New Hampshire conductor, Jonathan McPhee, as well as the presentation of the award.

Immediately following the reception is a concert Beethoven Forever performed by Symphony New Hampshire at the Concord City Auditorium. The concert will feature an evening dedicated to the work of a master. Violinist Irina Muresanu, hailed as "not just a virtuoso, but an artist," will tackle his violin concerto, one of the genre's most beloved. The composer's Egmont Overture and his Symphony No. 1 complete this program.

Tickets for the concert and reception - which benefit NH Citizens for the Arts - can be purchased online by clicking this link.

The reception is sponsored by: b-fresh consulting, LLC, Louis Karno & Company, Talient Action Group, and Sulloway & Hollis, P.L.L.C.


NH DHHS - Statehouse Event to Honor NH’s Adoptive Families

Celebrating New Hampshire’s Adoptive Families

During National Adoption Month

Concord, NH – The New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

(DHHS) will honor New Hampshire’s Adoptive Families during a celebration at

the State House in Concord on Tuesday, November 18, 2014. The event will

celebrate the 127 adoptions finalized in the State between October 2013 and

September 2014. Governor Maggie Hassan, DHHS Commissioner Nicholas

Toumpas, and DHHS’ Division for Children, Youth and Families Administrator

Eileen Mullen will be speaking at the celebration. This will also be an

opportunity to hear from an adoptive parent.

EVENT: DHHS Celebrates New

Hampshire’s Adoptive Families

WHEN: Tuesday, November 18, 2014

3 PM

LOCATION: NH State House

Governor and Council


107 North Main St –

Concord, NH


NH DHHS - Awarded $891,494 in High Performance Bonuses 

Concord, NH – Commissioner Nicholas Toumpas today announced that the New

Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) has received two

federal high performance bonuses from the US Department of Agriculture

(USDA) for its quality administration of the Food Stamp Program in Federal

Fiscal Year 2013.

Awarded on September 25, 2014, the first bonus of $314,141 was given in

recognition of accurate determination of eligibility for food stamps. More

specifically, DHHS excelled at ensuring food stamp recipients and

applicants were not closed or denied benefits for inappropriate reasons. A

second bonus of $577,353 was awarded on October 1, 2014, in recognition of

DHHS’ work to ensure that families at risk of hunger are connected to food

benefits through food stamps. Currently 52,222 households in the State

receive food stamps.

"The Food Stamp program provides critical assistance to some of our most

vulnerable citizens, and I applaud the New Hampshire Department of Health

and Human Services for their efficient administration of this important

program," Governor Maggie Hassan said. "New Hampshire runs a program that

is nationally recognized as outstanding for accountability and accuracy,

while also ensuring that our children and families receive assistance to

access healthy food if they need it."

“It's gratifying to be recognized for quality administration of this

important program,” said Commissioner Toumpas. “I am pleased to say that

receiving such bonuses is not unusual for us. This is the 12th food stamp

high performance bonus award in the past 11 years.” According to

Commissioner Toumpas, the awards reflect the excellent teamwork of DHHS

staff on behalf of the citizens of New Hampshire. “Our eligibility workers

perform accurate eligibility and our Food Stamp Program staff ensures

proper adherence to policies so we can be successful in helping those in

need in our State.”

# # #


NH Senate Republicans - Sharon Carson is NH's Most Effective Senator 

The New Hampshire Senate

Republican Majority Office

Sunlight Foundation gives Carson high marks


Concord, NH – The Sunlight Foundation, a nonpartisan nonprofit pushing for open government, ranks Senator Sharon Carson (R-Londonderry) as the most effective Senator in New Hampshire. The ranking is based on Carson’s record of sponsoring successful legislation during the 2013-14 Session.


Carson sponsored 34 bills that were approved by the Senate, 17 of which also won approval from the Democratically-controlled New Hampshire House. Eleven of Carson’s bills were signed into law over the last two years. The Sunlight Foundation found that Carson had the most success getting her proposals through the legislative process.


“Our goal as Legislators should be to find ways to improve New Hampshire’s laws to benefit the people of our state,” Carson said. “That means not only finding good ideas, but shepherding them through the legislative process and into law. I’m proud of the results I’ve had sponsoring successful legislation.”


The Sunlight Foundation ranks Sen. Nancy Stiles (R-Hampton) as the second most effective Senator and Sen. David Boutin (R-Hooksett) third. Each sponsored twelve bills that made it into law over the past two years.


Sunlight Foundation Report