Bring Home the Bacon

Citizens Against Government Waste (CAGW) released their 2008 "Pig Book" detailing where the waste is.  My hats off to the Democratic Congress.  With their help this year marked the second highest total EVER worth a grand total of $17.2 billion.  To quote the immortal words of Charlotte, that's some pig! (or should that be sum pig)

Now as much as I like I can't blame Democrats alone.  The top 3 porkers were in fact Republicans.

What's interesting is looking how our 2008 presidential choices faired.  McCain has $0 in pork spending.  Obama lists out at $97.4 million.  Then comes Hillary with a grant total of $296.2 million.  Clearly with that much pork spending she's not representing her Jewish voters.

What better way to celebrate the release of this report then with a top 10 little piggies going to market list, take from their "Oinkers" awards

1)  The Pantheon of Pork Award
to Senator Robert Byrd (D-W.VA) for $386 million in pork.

2) The Narcissist Award
to Representative Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.) for $1,950,000 for the Charles B. Rangel Center for
Public Service.

3) This Pork Was Made for Walking Award
to Representative Virgil Goode (R-Va.) for $98,000 to develop a walking tour of Boydton, Virginia.

4) The Taxpayers Get Steamed Award
to Maine Senators Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe (R), and Rep. Thomas Allen (D-Maine) for $188,000 for the Lobster Institute.

5) The Return to Sender Award
to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) for $196,000 for the renovation and transformation of the historic downtown Post Office in Las Vegas.

6) The Tax Dollars on Drugs Award
to Representative John Murtha (D-Pa.) for $23 million for the National Drug Intelligence Center.

7) The French Kiss Off Award
to Representative Mike Thompson (D-Calif.) for $211,509 in olive fruit fly research in Paris, France.

8) The Pig in Sheep's Clothing Award
to Montana Senators Max Baucaus (D) and Jon Tester (D) for $148,950 for the
Montana Sheep Institute.

9) The Unidentified Fiscal Object  Award
to Representative Ann Esshoo (D-Calif.) for $1.6 million for the Allen Telescope Array.

10) The Money Doesn't Grow on Trees Award
to Senator Richard Durbin (D-Ill.) for $344,540 for the city of Chicago
GreenStreets Tree Planting Program.